Let them Eat Horrified Gingerbread Boy Cake!

Ladies and gentlemen, allow me to present to you my latest collection: Victus Populi, a rather large collection of cookery pamphlets from throughout the 20th Century donated by Chef Fritz Blank.

It. Is. Fabulous.

I’ve only just started working with Victus Populi, and I am already completely enthralled. This may or may not have something to do with the fact that the first box Regan handed me was titled “Cakes.” Some of the cakes are deliciously tempting (I’m looking at you, Orange Rum Yum Cake), but my personal favorites are the ones that look absolutely ridiculous, the very best of which, in my opinion, is this layer cake featuring a small troupe of absolutely horrified gingerbread boys.

Recipe and image from Betty Crocker's Cakes Kids Love, 1969

Recipe and image from Betty Crocker’s Cakes Kids Love, 1969

Like I said, it’s fabulous. Doesn’t that gingerbread boy look like he’s just seen something AWFUL? This would be a perfect cake for a holiday party gone terribly awry or a Christmas-themed horror movie party (yes, they exist) because it is the stuff of wintertime nightmares.

What I’m really saying is: please, somebody make this cake and post pictures of it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

